Learn / Where are Section 1256 contracts on your 1099-B? Boxes 8 to 11, broker by broker

Where are Section 1256 contracts on your 1099-B? Boxes 8 to 11, broker by broker

Box 11 is box 8 plus box 10 minus box 9, and where that section sits differs by broker: tastytrade splits index options from futures across two documents, IBKR files them under noncovered securities, Robinhood names the section. Dated, with what could not be verified said so.

The four boxes, in the IRS's words

Section 1256 activity is reported on an aggregate basis, not trade by trade, in a section the 1099-B instructions head Regulated Futures Contracts, Foreign Currency Contracts, and Section 1256 Option Contracts (Boxes 8 Through 11) (Instructions for Form 1099-B). The box titles carry the year; described generically:

BoxHolds
8Profit or (loss) realized this year on closed contracts
9Unrealized profit or (loss) on contracts open at the end of LAST year (already taxed last year through the mark to market)
10Unrealized profit or (loss) on contracts open at the end of THIS year
11Aggregate profit or (loss) on contracts, the number Form 6781 line 1 takes

The instructions say Use boxes 8, 9, and 10 to figure the aggregate profit or (loss). tastytrade writes the arithmetic out: (Box 8 + Box 10) - (Box 9) = Box 11 (tastytrade). Box 9 is subtracted because last year's mark was taxed last year; a journal that adds the three boxes double counts. The split calculator takes either the total or the three boxes.

The IRS furnishing deadline for the 2025 tax year: The due date for furnishing statements to recipients for Forms 1099-B ... is February 17, 2026. This also applies to statements furnished as part of a consolidated reporting statement. (General Instructions for Certain Information Returns). The dates below are the ones each broker published for this season; they move every year.

tastytrade

Issued by the clearing firm, Apex. Index options and futures land in two different documents: Did you trade index options (e.g. SPX, NDX, VIX, RUT, or XSP, etc.)? These are considered Section 1256 contracts, not futures, and are reported on your Consolidated 1099 under Regulated Futures Contracts, not on the Substitute 1099 Statement. The section is named Regulated Futures Contracts & Section 1256 Options and, in tastytrade's own words, The amount shown in the Regulated Futures Contracts section of your 1099-B Totals Summary does not include actual futures transactions, only cash-settled index options. Futures come on a separate Substitute 1099 Statement from StoneX, and the two are combined on Form 6781, Enter each amount separately in Part I, then take the sum in Part II. (tastytrade 1099 guide).

Two quirks worth knowing. Short positions are reported based on the settlement date of the closing trade, not the trade date. This means a short position closed on the last trading day of the year may not appear on that year's 1099-B, it would roll into the following year's 1099-B instead. And a revised form shows a small 'X' will appear in the CORRECTED box in the upper right; Multiple corrections can occur, resulting in a reissued document each time. Issue dates sit in the Tax Center behind the account login, so none are stated here.

Interactive Brokers

1099B reporting is made up of four separate forms: Covered securities with short-term gains or losses, Covered securities with long-term gains or losses, and Uncovered securities. Section 1256 transactions. and the Section 1256 numbers sit specifically on the Form 1099-B for noncovered securities (IBKR tax forms, IBKR tax reports). Consolidated Form 1099 will be available February 15 for the immediately preceding year. A supporting Gain/Loss Worksheet for 1256 Contracts gives the mark-to-market detail. Note from IBKR's own page: Form 1099B (futures and 1256 contracts) is not currently supported by TurboTax. How often IBKR reissues corrected forms is not published.

Charles Schwab

One 1099 Composite and Year-End Summary per brokerage account, sent in three waves. The first wave is typically sent out at the end of January, the second goes out by mid-February, and a third wave at the end of February. (Schwab). Corrections are routine: When you receive a corrected 1099 form from your brokerage, it doesn't necessarily mean your broker made a mistake. and If you do get a corrected form, you might want to request an extension before the April tax filing due date. (Schwab). Schwab confirms the scope, Broad-based index options (as well as futures contracts and options on futures) fall under Section 1256 of the IRS tax code and are required to be treated with mark-to-market status. (Schwab).

Not verified, so not stated: the exact section label Schwab prints for Section 1256 activity on the Composite, and anything about the transition year for former TD Ameritrade and thinkorswim accounts. The Schwab pages that would say so could not be read on 2026-09-13.

Robinhood

For this tax year, you'll get a Consolidated 1099 PDF from Robinhood Markets, Inc. with a named section: Section 1256 Contracts: Includes the gains or losses from 1256 Contracts, including regulated futures contracts, index options, and other non-equity options. (Robinhood). Robinhood also calls it the Annual Report of Net Gain or Loss From Section 1256 Contracts, dates it February 17, and on a correction sends a Delta page that shows the differences from the previous version of the form 1099 you received (Robinhood). One form per investing account.

Webull

Two possible issuers after the clearing conversion: you may receive two separate tax forms, one from Apex Financial and another from Webull Financial, depending on your account activity. Consolidated 1099 first run January 31 (estimated), first correction run Late February to Early March (Webull). Not verified, so not stated: where Section 1256 activity sits inside Webull's Consolidated 1099 and whether index options get their own section. Its help pages do not mention Section 1256. Separately, Webull's export is an order log rather than a statement, so expirations and assignments are not in the file at all; the Webull guide says what that means for a journal.

What FillStub does with this

It does not read a 1099. It rebuilds the year from the broker's event export and produces the same two numbers the form should: the Section 1256 aggregate, split 60/40 for Form 6781, and the Form 8949 worksheet for everything else. Put next to the broker's form, the two should agree; where they do not, one of them has a missing year-end mark, a short leg reported by settlement date, or a premium the broker did not fold, and the worksheet names which contract to look at.

Not tax advice. Facts on this page were read from the linked sources on 2026-09-13; the law and the forms change by year, and a preparer reads your own facts. FillStub produces a worksheet from your broker export, and nothing is filed.

Drop a broker export, free